By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. They ensure the proper functioning of our services and display relevant ads. Learn more about cookies and act

Not yet registered? Create a OverBlog!

Create my blog

Twelve tips for getting started and boosting your blog traffic

Publish exclusive content, and do it often

Your readers like the same thing you do! We're all hungry for content that provides a little something extra, that teaches us something, or entertains us. And we all want fresh content that we haven't already seen somewhere else.

How do you provide interesting content for your readers? By publishing original, exclusive material, and doing it often.

Tips for writing an original and exclusive article.

An article exclusive if you're the first to share new information. It's possible to do this, but it's not that easy. Not everyone can stay on top of breaking news every day. Here are some ways to get around this issue:

  • Be responsive. If you find a news item related to your topic of choice, share it as soon as possible. Finding an article in a foreign language and being the first to translate it into your language is another way to provide exclusive content. Sharing information to which you've added your own analysis makes your content original, and this type of content is highly valued by the people who care about a given subject.
  • Be yourself. It's your personality, and the way your viewpoint and experience come across in your articles, that make them original and distinguish them from the rest. It's your special touch that makes it exclusive. Your readers are attracted to it because it can't be found elsewhere.
  • Don't hold back! Holding back, or constantly justifying yourself will be less appealing than if you take a firm stance. Do you have an opinion about something? Embrace it and state it clearly. Your readers will appreciate it and will come back for more of the same.

Publish regularly

To grow your audience, you need your readers to keep coming back to your blog. Be sure you're there when they show up! Entice your readers with original articles, and earn their loyalty by publishing regularly. If your readers come back to your blog and find nothing new, they'll be disappointed. It's up to you to decide how often to publish your articles based on your availability and your goals. If you're really industrious, you could even publish several times a day. In any case, we suggest you publish at least one article per week.

Let your social media activity provide content for your blog

Writing a traditional article can take you 30 minutes to an hour. But sometimes you don't have that kind of time. It's not good to let your blog go unattended at times like this. But you can keep it current with your best web content from other sites.

  • Automate publication of your best content on social networks with Social Hub. The content you publish on your social media services can be shared directly on your blog.
  • Repost articles from other OverBlog sites. To avoid neglecting your site, you can publish things you find and recommend articles with just 2 clicks.
  • Don't forget about Flash Post! Unlike writing traditional articles, using Flash Post is more spontaneous. Rather than waiting till you have a complete, fully formed article to publish, you can share your ideas as they come to you.

Lastly, in addition to all of the other reasons for frequent publishing, Google "likes" sites that are updated regularly. This means it's also good for search engine rankings!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies. Ces derniers assurent le bon fonctionnement de nos services ainsi que l’affichage de publicités pertinentes. En savoir plus et agir sur les cookies

Pas encore inscrit ? Creez un Overblog!

Créer mon blog

12 conseils pour bien débuter son blog et booster son trafic

Publiez souvent, et des articles exclusifs

Ce qui intéresse vos lecteurs, c’est la même chose qui vous intéresse vous ! Nous sommes tous friands des articles qui nous apportent quelque chose de plus, qui nous apprennent quelque chose ou nous divertissent : des articles nouveaux, que nous ne connaissions pas encore.

Comment offrir des articles intéressants à mes lecteurs ? En publiant du contenu original, exclusif, et en publiant souvent.

Conseil pour un article original et exclusif

Ce qui fait l’exclusivité d’un article peut être le fait que vous soyez le premier à partager une information. C’est possible, mais assez rare : tout le monde n’est pas dénicheur de véritables exclusivités au quotidien. Voici comment contourner cette contrainte :

  • Soyez réactifs : si une actualité concerne votre thème de prédilection, faites-lui écho au plus vite. Repérez un article en langue étrangère et le proposer traduit en premier, peut par exemple constituer une forme d’exclusivité. Relayer une information en y apportant votre analyse constitue une originalité très prisée par les passionnés d’un même sujet.
  • Soyez vous-même : c’est votre personnalité, et ce que vous mettez de vous dans vos articles, à travers votre regard et votre expérience, qui fait l’originalité de vos articles et leur différence. Et c’est cette différence, exclusive, introuvable ailleurs, que viennent chercher les lecteurs.
  • Osez ! La demi-mesure ou la mise en perspective constante déclenche moins d’intérêt que la véritable prise de parti. Vous avez un avis ? Assumez-le et dites-le clairement. Vos lecteurs apprécieront et reviendront même justement pour cela.

Publiez régulièrement

Pour augmenter votre audience, la lecture de votre blog doit devenir un rendez-vous avec vos lecteurs. Ce rendez-vous, honorez-le ! Appâtez avec des articles originaux, fidélisez avec des publications régulières. Si vos lecteurs reviennent sur votre blog et n’y trouvent rien de nouveau, ils seront déçus. À vous de choisir la périodicité de vos articles en fonction de votre emploi du temps et vos objectifs. Vous pouvez même aller jusqu’à publier plusieurs billets par jour pour les plus assidus. Essayez toutefois de ne pas descendre en-dessous d’un billet par semaine.

Capitalisez sur votre activité web globale pour alimenter votre blog

Comptez 30 minutes à 1 heure pour la rédaction d’un article de blog classique. Par moment le temps pourra venir à vous manquer. Ne laissez pas votre blog en friche pendant ces périodes, au contraire continuez de le nourrir avec le meilleur de vos contenus.

  • Automatisez la publication du meilleur de vos contenus sur les réseaux sociaux avec le Hub Social : vos publications sur les réseaux sociaux seront partagées directement sur votre blog.
  • Repostez des articles d’autres blogs OverBlog. Ne laissez pas votre veille dans l’ombre, partagez vos découvertes et recommandez des articles en les publiant en 2 clics.
  • Pensez au Flash Post ! À la différence d’un article classique le Flash Post est plus spontané. N’attendez pas d’avoir en tête un article complet et construit pour publier, mais partagez vos réflexions instantanées.

Notez enfin qu’au-delà des problématiques éditoriales, Google « apprécie » un contenu mis à jour régulièrement : c’est aussi bon pour le référencement naturel !