By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. They ensure the proper functioning of our services and display relevant ads. Learn more about cookies and act

Not yet registered? Create a OverBlog!

Create my blog

Twelve tips for getting started and boosting your blog traffic

Introduce yourself

No matter what the focus of your blog, and even if it's all about you, don't forget to introduce yourself!

Sign your articles

First of all, an article without an author is not credible. Secondly, if you're already an expert on a certain topic, your name makes a big difference. Finally, if you're not yet a recognized expert, signing your articles is a good way to gain recognition.

  • Be sure that the author's name is clearly displayed at the beginning of every article. At OverBlog, this is automatic.
  • For blogs or sites with multiple contributors, be sure that all authors have their own signatures. Avoid using a single, generic name for all authors. This feature is automatic for multi-author blogs at OverBlog too.

Complete your "About" section

Let's talk about you some more! Everybody looks at "About" pages. When you introduce yourself to your readers, you're taking the first step towards building a relationship with them. If you want to grow your audience and earn the loyalty of your readers, it's essential to introduce yourself.

  • The "About" tells your audience who you are. It answers the question, "Who is this person and why is he or she blogging?". Your "About" is where you can reveal some things about yourself and your point of view, and highlight your distinguishing characteristics. Give your readers information that will help them understand you better.
  • Your "About" helps your audience relate to you. By introducing yourself, you go from being just some blogger to being a real person. It's the ways in which people are different, their quirks, the more personal details that enable us to feel a connection to someone. Your "About" helps you win over your audience.
  • Some people read an article because the subject interests them. Others are more interested in the author. So don't be shy!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies. Ces derniers assurent le bon fonctionnement de nos services ainsi que l’affichage de publicités pertinentes. En savoir plus et agir sur les cookies

Pas encore inscrit ? Creez un Overblog!

Créer mon blog

12 conseils pour bien débuter son blog et booster son trafic

Présentez-vous

Quel que soit le thème de votre blog, et même si c’est de vous que vous parlez : présentez-vous !

Signez vos articles

En premier lieu, un article non signé n’est pas crédible. En second lieu : si vous êtes déjà spécialiste d’un sujet, votre signature fait la différence. Enfin si vous n’êtes pas encore reconnu comme expert, signer vos articles est un moyen fort de vous faire un nom.

  • Veillez donc à ce que le nom de l’auteur soit bien affiché devant chacun de vos articles. Bon à savoir : chez OverBlog, cette fonctionalité est automatique.
  • Pour les blogs ou sites à multiples contributeurs, veillez à ce que chaque auteur signe ses propres articles. Évitez d’avoir un seul nom générique d’auteur pour tous. Chez OverBlog, cette fonctionalité est automatique aussi pour les blogs multi-auteurs.

Remplissez votre « à propos »

Dites-en plus sur vous ! Les pages « à propos » sont consultées, tous sites confondus. En vous présentant à vos lecteurs vous initiez déjà une relation avec eux. Dans la perspective d’augmenter et fidéliser votre audience, cette présentation de vous est incontournable.

  • L’ « à propos » permet à votre audience de vous connaître : Qui êtes-vous et pourquoi bloguez-vous ? C’est le lieu pour apporter un éclairage sur vous, sur votre regard, et marquer vos spécificités. Dites ici tout ce qui permettra à vos lecteurs de mieux vous comprendre.
  • L’ « à propos » permet à votre audience de vous apprécier : En vous présentant vous passez d’auteur de blog à individu. Ce sont les différences, les aspérités, les choses un peu personnelles qui fondent notre attachement à quelqu’un. Votre « à propos » est un ingrédient de votre capital sympathie.
  • Certains lisent un article parce que son sujet les intéresse. D’autres parce que son auteur les intéresse. Ne vous cachez pas !