By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. They ensure the proper functioning of our services and display relevant ads. Learn more about cookies and act

Not yet registered? Create a OverBlog!

Create my blog

Twelve tips for getting started and boosting your blog traffic

Include external links

I should send people to other sites? Yes, you should. External links are the cornerstone of the web. When you first start blogging, you're most concerned about links that direct people to your site (backlinks). They're important, but they're not all there is. Linking to other sites from yours is important too!

Adding links adds value

Whether internal or external, hyperlinks make your articles more substantial by giving readers the ability to go further and learn more.

To link and be linked to: a virtuous circle

Bloggers monitor their backlinks! Linking to another site means the owner of that site will notice you. Once you've linked to another's site, that person will be more likely to link to yours, especially if you write about the same subjects. It boils down to the philosophy that if you give something, you'll get something in return, and if you do something, others are more likely to return the favor.

Don't worry about losing readers

It's unrealistic to think you can keep a reader on your site by not including external links in your articles. You're better off making sure readers want to stay by offering them good content that is exclusive, original, illustrated... Basically that means QUALITY content!

Put links at the end of paragraphs

Reading on a screen has its own set of issues. When readers encounter the different formatting of a hyperlink (colored, underlined, etc.) it can be disconcerting. They can lose their place, and it might make them stop reading your article. Try to put your links at the ends of paragraphs, on words that accurately reflect the information they'll find.

Another thing: Google adores links too. So link away!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies. Ces derniers assurent le bon fonctionnement de nos services ainsi que l’affichage de publicités pertinentes. En savoir plus et agir sur les cookies

Pas encore inscrit ? Creez un Overblog!

Créer mon blog

12 conseils pour bien débuter son blog et booster son trafic

Faites des liens

Créer des liens ? C’est la clé de voûte du web. Lorsque l’on commence à bloguer on pense surtout à obtenir des liens entrants (les fameux backlinks). C’est important, mais ce n’est pas tout. Les liens sortants de votre article comptent aussi !

Des liens pour apporter de la valeur ajoutée

Que ce soit des liens internes ou externes, les liens hypertextes apportent une dimension supplémentaire à votre article en offrant au lecteur la possibilité d’aller plus loin et de faire des découvertes.

Linker et être backlinké : un cercle vertueux

Les blogueurs surveillent leurs backlinks ! Faire un lien vers un autre blog vous permettra donc d’être repéré par celui-ci. Un blog vers lequel vous avez fait un lien sera d’autant plus enclin à faire un lien vers vous, surtout si vous traitez de thèmes communs. Finalement c’est une philosophie bien connue : donnez et vous recevrez, faites et vous aurez plus de chance que d’autres vous imitent.

N'ayez pas peur de perdre vos lecteurs

Il est totalement illusoire de penser que vous pouvez garder un internaute sur votre blog en ne proposant pas de lien externe dans vos articles. Faites plutôt en sorte qu'il ait envie de rester ou de revenir en proposant du contenu de qualité, exclusif, original, illustré… Bref du BON contenu !

Placez vos liens en fin de paragraphe

La lecture à l’écran a ses spécificités : l’oeil, arrêté par la mise en forme différente de l’hyperlien (coloré, souligné…) peut être gêné. Le lecteur peut perdre le fil, et cela peut contribuer à stopper la lecture d’un article. Veillez à placer vos liens en fin de paragraphe et associez-les à des mots qui font sens.

Notez que Google aussi adore les liens. Linkez !