By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. They ensure the proper functioning of our services and display relevant ads. Learn more about cookies and act

Not yet registered? Create a OverBlog!

Create my blog

About us

Background

In the beginning, OverBlog was just three software engineers who were really excited about the web. The year was 2004, blogs were popping up everywhere, and the web was making it possible to share and transmit knowledge like never before. There was just one little problem: the only people who could create blogs were a relatively small number of insiders who knew how to work with code...

Our three cofounders, Frédéric, Gilles and Julien, all shared the same vision: they believed that everybody should be able to share their passions on the web with nothing more complicated than a click. They needed to bring blogging to the people! To do this, the technical barriers had to be broken down. "We're going to build a super simple tool that anyone can use to create a blog. Even our moms!"

It all started in an apartment in Toulouse, France. A few months later, OverBlog was born, giving bloggers a platform for their unique and wildly diverse blogs, and giving rise to entirely new kinds of creative projects, like the Belgian mom's photonovel blog starring stuffed animals, or the blog of a sales rep who posted photos of his bare feet in every new city his work took him to. It was happening!

At a certain point, we decided to try an original business model: revenue sharing. It had never been done before, and we're still the only ones doing it. In other words, OverBlog offers bloggers the option to display ads on their blogs. We then share any revenues from these ads with the bloggers. The arrangement is transparent, there is no obligation on the part of the blogger, and it is consistent with OverBlog's vision.

In the years that followed, the team grew. Our priorities were to continuously improve what we already had, and to develop new features to keep pace with the social web. Thousands, and soon millions of people created blogs on OverBlog, initially in France, then Italy, and then all over Europe.

During this time, people started using the web in different ways, which gradually altered the role played by blogs. With the explosion of social media, blogs ceased to be the focal point of users' online activity. Today, people are using Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, and YouTube. And sometimes they also have a blog. Now there are many platforms we can share on, greatly enriching our ability to express ourselves. But the problem is that our precious content is scattered all over the web, and it's getting hard to manage it.

This is why we've completely transformed OverBlog. We wanted to put the blog back in its rightful place. You see, we think that blogs should once again be the place where we keep all of the content we care about. To make this happen, we had to turn everything inside out, challenge our own assumptions, and start over from scratch. And we're really proud of the result.

The new OverBlog is your online home. It's where you do whatever you want, where your content is your own, where you call the shots. It's a showcase for everything you publish, no matter what form it comes in. It links you to all of your social sites by letting you share all, or some, of what you publish online. Your online home is a safe and secure place where you can keep everything that belongs to you. Effortlessly.

OverBlog lets you share the best of yourself.

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies. Ces derniers assurent le bon fonctionnement de nos services ainsi que l’affichage de publicités pertinentes. En savoir plus et agir sur les cookies

Pas encore inscrit ? Creez un Overblog!

Créer mon blog

A propos de nous

Histoire

Au tout début d’OverBlog il y a 3 ingénieurs passionnés de web. On est en 2004, les blogs sont en plein boom et avec eux, le partage de connaissance et la transmission de savoir explosent grâce au web. Mais il y a un bémol : seul un public très averti, capable de « mettre les mains dans le code », est en mesure de créer son blog de façon autonome…

Nos 3 cofondateurs, Frédéric, Gilles et Julien, partagent une vision commune : Tout le monde doit pouvoir partager ses passions sur le web en un clic. Il faut démocratiser l’accès au blog ! Pour y arriver, il faut faire tomber la barrière technique : « On va créer un outil super simple qui permettra à tout le monde de bloguer tout seul. Même à nos mères ! ».

L’aventure commence dans un appartement sous les toits à Toulouse. Quelques mois plus tard OverBlog naît, ouvrant la voie à des blogs géniaux, complètement éclectiques, et de genres nouveaux. Par exemple le blog roman photo de peluches d’une maman belge, ou encore le blog du commercial qui poste une photo de ses pieds nus dans chaque nouvelle ville. Ça maaaarche !

Dans la foulée nous choisissons de fonctionner sur un modèle innovant : le partage de revenus. Du jamais vu alors, et nous sommes toujours les seuls à le faire. Concrètement, cela signifie qu’OverBlog propose aux blogueurs qui le veulent d’afficher de la publicité sur leur blog. Les revenus issus de cette publicité sont ensuite partagés entre OverBlog et le blogueur. C’est transparent, sans obligation, et cohérent avec la vision OverBlog.

Les années suivantes l’équipe grandit. Nous nous attachons à consolider l’existant, et à développer de nouvelles fonctionnalités qui émergent à mesure que le web social explose. Des milliers, puis des millions d’utilisateurs choisissent OverBlog pour leur blog, en France, puis en Italie et partout en Europe.

En parallèle les usages du web évoluent, et petit à petit le rôle du blog change. Avec l’explosion des médias sociaux il perd sa place centrale dans les usages des internautes. Aujourd’hui on a Facebook, un Twitter, un Tumblr, une chaîne Youtube et parfois un blog en plus. Les médias sont multiples et cela apporte une grande richesse. Seul écueil : la valeur de nos contenus est dispersée, il devient difficile de la repérer.

C’est pour ça qu’on a transformé OverBlog : pour redonner au blog sa place de référent. Le blog devait redevenir le lieu où trouver tous les contenus qui ont de la valeur pour vous. Il a fallu tout bousculer, nous remettre en question et accepter de repartir de zéro. Au final on est super fiers du résultat.

Le nouvel OverBlog c’est chez vous. Un chez vous où vous faites ce que vous voulez, où vos contenus vous appartiennent, où c’est vous qui décidez. Un chez vous qui fait honneur à vos articles quel que soit leur format, qui vous connecte à tous les réseaux sociaux, et où vous choisissez de partager un bout ou la totalité de vos publications en ligne. Un chez vous fiable et sûr, où vous pouvez tout centraliser et que ça reste simplisme.

Avec OverBlog vous partagez le meilleur de vous.